Welcome to the website for IFL 2019, the 31st Symposium on Implementation and Application of Functional Languages. The goal of the IFL symposia is to bring together researchers actively engaged in the implementation and application of functional and function-based programming languages. IFL 2019 will be a venue for researchers to present and discuss new ideas and concepts, work in progress, and publication-ripe results related to the implementation and application of functional languages and function-based programming.

Important Dates -- Time Zone: AoE (UTC-12h)

Submission of regular papers: 31st May 2019 (Friday)
Submission of draft papers: 15th July 2019 (Monday)
Regular and draft papers notification: 1st August 2019 (Thursday)
Deadline for early registration: 15th August 2019 (Thursday)
Submission of pre-proceedings version: 15th September 2019 (Sunday)
IFL 2019 Symposium: 25th September 2019 - 27th September 2019 (Wednesday - Friday incl.)
Submission of papers for post-proceedings: (tentative) 30th November 2019 (Saturday)
Notification of acceptance for post-symposium proceedings: (tentative) 31st January 2020 (Friday)
Camera-ready version: (tentative) 29th February 2020 (Saturday)

Submission Details

Prospective authors are encouraged to submit full papers and draft papers. All contributions must be written in English. Papers must adhere to the standard ACM SIGCONF (sigconf) two columns conference format, which can be found at Specifically, you must use the `sigconf` option of the `acmart` package, which can be included in LaTeX with the following:

\acmConference[IFL'19]{International Symposium on Implementation and Application of Functional Languages}{September 2020}{Singapore}

For pre- and post-symposium full paper submissions, the limit is firm and is 12 pages. Draft papers submissions are roughly between 8 and 15 pages.

Submit through EasyChair

At no time may work submitted to IFL be simultaneously submitted to other venues; submissions must adhere to ACM SIGPLAN's republication policy:

Program Committee

  • Olaf Chitil, University of Kent
  • Clemens Grelck, University of Amsterdam
  • Daisuke Kimura, The University of Tokyo
  • Pieter Koopman, Radboud University
  • Tamás Kozsik, Eötvös Loránd University
  • Roman Leschinskiy, Facebook
  • Ben Lippmeier, The University of New South Wales
  • Marco T. Morazan, Seton Hall University
  • Sven-Bodo Scholz, Heriot-Watt University
  • Tom Schrijvers, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Alejandro Serrano, Utrecht University
  • Tony Sloane, Macquarie University
  • Simon Thompson, University of Kent
  • Marcos Viera, Universidad de la República
  • Wei Ngan Chin, NUS
  • Jurriën Stutterheim, Standard Chartered Bank

Steering Committee

The list of Steering Committee members

Organizing Committee

Jurriën Stutterheim, Standard Chartered Bank Singapore
Wei Ngan Chin, National University of Singapore
Please direct any questions you may have towards

Previous IFL Editions